The Basics of Address Change in Vermont
You should know that you are required by law to let the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles know about any change to your address within 30 days of the address change. Additionally, you have to change the address on your driver’s license, vehicle records, and non-driver ID with the Vermont DMV within 30 days. You must update your vehicle registration documents separately from your license records.
It is best if you use the same address on all of your transactions, documents, and applications. Some people might think that the U.S. Postal Service notifies the Vermont DMV when you change your address. However, this is not actually the case. You are required to report your address change to the Vermont DMV yourself. On a related note, you are also required to report your address change to the U.S. Postal Service yourself, as well.
How Do I Change My Address If I Am Moving within Vermont?
You can change the address on your DMV records online, in person, or by mail at a DMV office. In the event that you have a Commercial Driver’s License or enhanced driver’s license/ID card, you have to change your address in person. As previously mentioned, you have to notify the Vermont DMV within 30 days of your address change. You can change your address online by going to the Vermont DMV express website. You will have to log in by entering your DMV ID number, which is the same as your driver’s license number.
You can change your address at a kiosk if you go to one of the following Vermont DMV offices: Bennington, South Burlington, Montpelier, Newport, Rutland, and Springfield. Changing your address this way is similar to changing it online. You will have to fill out the Application for License/Permit, bring it with you in person, or mail it to the following address:
120 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05603
How Do I Change My Address If I Am Moving to Vermont from Another State?
One thing you should do quickly after you move to Vermont is to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license. This is because you are required to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license within 60 days of establishing Vermont residency. You can find out more about this process here.
You will have to go to your local Vermont DMV office and surrender your out-of-state driver’s license. You also have to pay the required fee. The fee for changing the address on your driver’s license or ID card is $20, and the fee for changing the address on your vehicle registration is $16. In order to update the address on your certificate of title, you will have to pay a $35 fee.
How Do I Change My Address If I Am Moving from Vermont?
You should let your insurance company know about your move and provide them with a new address. Additionally, you are required to mail your Vermont license plates back to the Vermont DMV. You can do so by mailing the license plates to:
120 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05603
You can change your address by doing so online, in person, or by mail. If you are moving out of state, it might be most convenient for you to visit the Vermont DMV express website and do it that way. You should also inform the U.S. Postal Service that you are moving out of the state of Vermont.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?