Buying a Vehicle in Vermont 101
Buying a vehicle is an important event that happens for the vast majority of drivers in the state of Vermont. Vermont drivers should know that buying a vehicle begins with the first step of getting the vehicle title. However, the state of Vermont does not actually require titles for vehicles that are more than 15 years old. You should definitely ensure that the seller has a bill of sale. You should also ensure that the bill of sale includes the following information:
- The vehicle’s make and year
- The vehicle identification number
- The purchase price and sale date
- The odometer reading
- The seller’s signature
If the vehicle you are buying is coming from another state where it didn’t require a title, you will also need to get an original or certified copy of the last registration. You will require past bills of sale to get enough information to properly identify the car.
Signing Over the Vehicle Title to the Buyer
As previously mentioned, you will need to have the vehicle title in order to sell it. You will also have to sign the vehicle title and the seller has to sign the title, as well. In general, you will also need to have a Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement in addition to the title. Signing over the vehicle title is a relatively straightforward process. You and the seller both simply sign the vehicle title at the appropriate areas on the form. This is the most clear proof that the seller is transferring ownership of the vehicle over to you.
What If The Seller Lost the Title?
Losing the vehicle title is obviously an inconvenience, but there are steps that you can take to resolve it. If the seller lost the title, they will have to apply for a duplicate title in order to sell the vehicle to you in most cases. The seller will have to provide proof of identification and then fill out a Duplicate Title Application.
If the vehicle has multiple owners, they will all have to sign this form. The seller will also have to pay a $35 duplicate title fee. The seller can then simply drop off the application. Alternatively, the seller can mail all of this to the following address:
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603
In some cases, the vehicle will require a safety inspection. If the vehicle does not have a current, valid inspection certificate or it is coming from out-of-state, then it needs a safety inspection. Out-of-state vehicles must be inspected within 15 days of registration. A vehicle might also require a VIN verification. The vehicle requires a VIN verification if:
- It’s from outside of the state or country
- The vehicle’s documentation does not meet AAMVA standards
- It has been documented as salvage
- It is titled under bond
- An exempt title is request for a vehicle over 25 years old
DMV employees can conduct VIN verifications. Designated law enforcement officers can conduct VIN verifications, as well.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?