• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Washington Insurance

Home 9 US State 9 Washington DMV Services 9 Washington Insurance
( people found this content useful.)
Motorists who drive on public roads without insuring their vehicles could be fined $550. An uninsured motorist also is liable for property damages and the costs of treating injuries if he or she caused the accident. The following information should help drivers in Washington State to abide insurance mandates.

Basic Auto Insurance

Washington State requires all vehicle owners to carry at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person and $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident. The coverages pay up to $25,000 in medical costs and other damages arising from personal injuries to one person. They also pay up to $50,000 in combined medical costs for more than one person injured or killed during a car accident in which the driver of the insured vehicle is at-fault. The state also requires vehicle owners to carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability coverage to help cover the costs of damage to other vehicles and property. The state-mandated liability coverages only protect vehicle owners against the costs of liability up to respective policy limits.

Required Insurance Documents

While driving, you must carry proof of insurance that shows the liability insurance amounts, make and model of the insured vehicle, and name and address of its owner. The insurance documents also provide the vehicle identification number (VIN) to ensure the vehicle is the one named in the insurance documents. The insurance documents also show the policy period so that a police officer and the owner can know whether or not the policy is in force or expired.

Your Insurance Card

All auto insurers provide a wallet-sized card that provides all of the required information on the insurance documents. The insurance card is what you should provide to a police officer during a traffic stop or following an accident. The insurance card also enables you to quickly exchange insurance information with other drivers if you are involved in an accident.

Insurance Fraud

Insurance fraud occurs when someone knowingly lies about the instances leading up to an accident, withhold information or lie about the extent of damages and injuries suffered. Providing fraudulent medical reports and damage assessments are examples of insurance fraud. Insurance fraud is a crime in Washington State that could rise to the level of a felony and carry costly fines and potential imprisonment for violators. The Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner investigates complaints of insurance fraud and prosecutes those that rise to the level of criminal activity. Those convicted of insurance fraud face potential prison sentences of up to 5 years and a maximum fine of $10,000 per offense.

How to Report Insurance Fraud to the State

Anyone can report known or suspected cases of insurance fraud in Washington State. The fraud report and any related documents that you might provide become public records and are subject to Freedom of Information Act requests.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Jul 11, 2022