To be able to drive legally in West Virginia, you need to have the appropriate amount of car insurance. Violations of the car insurance laws of the state may lead to significant penalties, so you need to be sure you’re carrying enough insurance to cover your liability in the case of a collision and to meet the state requirements.
Basic Auto Insurance
Basic auto insurance in West Virginia is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for any property damage that occurs
Liability coverage is the minimum that you need to have within the state. Liability coverage will help cover some of the costs associated with property damage or injuries, but it may not be enough.
The state does require you to maintain uninsured motorist coverage as well as liability coverage. If your vehicle is leased or rented, you may need to have greater coverage. Your lender will let you know if you need to carry comprehensive coverage until your vehicle is paid off in full.
Optional types of car insurance that you may want to purchase include:
- Comprehensive insurance to cover damage caused by vandalism, hail or other situations
- Towing and labor insurance
- Underinsured motorist coverage
- Medical payments
- Collision coverage
Required Insurance Documents
When you’re driving, you need to carry your Certificate of Insurance in your vehicle at all times. This is available on Form WV-1, which you will receive from your insurance company.
You’ll need to present your insurance if you want to register your vehicle in West Virginia.
Your Insurance Card
If you are stopped by the police and they ask for your insurance card, you need to be able to present it immediately. You need to keep a copy of your insurance card (Form WV-1) with your vehicle’s registration inside your vehicle. You should also consider using an app or having a digital copy of your insurance card, so that it is easy to access if you need it during a traffic stop.
It is against the law to commit insurance fraud. Providing false information to obtain insurance is a crime and may be penalized harshly. Depending on the value of the fraud, you could face heavy fines or time in prison for committing insurance fraud, so it’s not a good idea to do so.
How to Report Fraud to the State
If you suspect that someone you know is committing insurance fraud, you can report it to the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. By doing this, you’re helping stop the fraud that increases the cost of insurance for everyone in the state.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?