Traffic Violations in West Virginia
West Virginia takes its traffic laws seriously. If you violate the law, then you could be cited. For every citation, there is a point value assigned. Those points add up, and you could lose your license if you get too many in too short a time.
Motorists need to keep their driving records clean. Failing to do so can increase the cost of insurance and result in license suspensions or revocations.
West Virginia Points System
West Virginia, like many other states, does use a points system. With the points system, points are assessed each time a driver commits a traffic violation. Depending on the severity of the violation, the points may increase.
When a motorist gets at least six points on their license, they’ll get a warning letter in the mail. If they continue to drive dangerously and are cited again, they could end up losing their license.
It’s important to note that you will begin to see license suspensions if you reach 12 points on your license.
How Long Do Points Stay On Your Record?
Points on your license will remain for two years from the date of the conviction, not the date of the violation. Then, the violation itself remains on your record for another five years.
License Suspension and Reinstatement in West Virginia
License suspensions work differently in West Virginia. When you lose your license due to traffic violations, the suspension begins. Then, if you violate the law again, you could receive an additional suspension. These run consecutively unless you have 20 or more points. At that time, your suspensions will run concurrently.
Points and suspension times are as follows:
- 12-13 points: 30-day suspension.
- 14-15 points: 45-day suspension.
- 16-17 points: 60-day suspension.
- 18-19 points: 90-day suspension.
- 20+ points: Your license will be suspended until your license’s points reach 11 or less.
To regain your driving privileges after your license suspension is over, you need to pay a reinstatement fee to:
PO Box 17030
Charleston, West Virginia, 25317
Be aware that the Division of Moto Vehicles Regional Offices cannot handle reinstatements, so you will need to go through the main office, by mail, when you want to get your license reinstated.
If you get a traffic ticket, you have three options. You can plead guilty, enter no contest, or state that you are not guilty. If you plead no contest or guilty, then you need to pay the fine on your ticket. If you claim you’re not guilty, you will need to go to court for a hearing.
The exact fine varies based on your county. Call the number on the ticket to find out more about how much the fine is and where you should send the payment. You may be able to obtain a payment plan if needed.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?