Wisconsin law requires that all drivers have auto insurance to cover any injuries or damages caused in a collision. There may be exceptions for those with the means to pay without insurance, though they are rare.
Basic Auto Insurance
According to the state of Wisconsin, you will need to have:
- Liability insurance
- Uninsured motorist insurance
- Underinsured motorist insurance
Each of these has its own limits. Liability is the least insurance you can have to meet the state requirements. You may need more insurance to meet the requirements of a loan for a new or used vehicle.
Car liability insurance must have these minimum coverages:
- $25,000 for insurance or death per person
- $10,000 per collision for property damage
- $50,000 overall for multiple injuries or deaths within a single collision
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Insurance
You also need to have uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance. This should include the following minimum coverages:
- $25,000 per person for insurance
- $50,000 for all injuries in one accident
Remember, these are not the only kinds of insurance you have the option of getting. Other options may include:
- Medical payment
- Rental reimbursement
- Comprehensive insurance
- Collision coverage
- Towing and labor
Required Insurance Documents
When you register your vehicle, you don’t need to prove that you have insurance. However, if you are involved in a collision or are pulled over, then you will need to provide your insurance ID card or a digital card to the police. An insurance card is the most common proof, but a digital copy should be acceptable.
Your Insurance Card
When requested, you should be able to provide a copy of your insurance ID card or your digital insurance card. On that card, your name or the name of the policy holder should be present. There should be information about contacting the insurance company and information about the coverage, such as the policy number. Any card you receive from your insurance company should have the required details on it.
If you are caught without insurance, you face a fine of up to $500. You’ll be fined $10 if you can present your insurance information later but not at the time of a traffic stop.
Committing insurance fraud is serious. If a claim of $2,500 or less is made, you’ll face a Class A misdemeanor. Claims higher than this are Class I felonies. You could be fined and imprisoned.
How to Report Fraud to the State
Fraud makes insurance more expensive for everyone. If you need to report fraud to the state, you can contact the National Insurance Crime Bureau. To reach the NICB, you should:
Within Wisconsin, you may make your complaint to the Consumer Protection Hotline at 800-422-7128. The agency will forward you to other agencies that handle the specific type of fraud if needed. You can also email DATCPWisconsinPrivacy@Wisconsin.gov.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?