To drive a vehicle in Wyoming, you have to have a valid driver’s license. Young people trying to drive for the first time will have to complete a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. There are also additional programs for drivers who have violated traffic laws and programs to assist with defensive driving techniques.
Table of Contents
Testing and Preparing to Drive
You must pass several tests before obtaining a license in Wyoming, unless you already have a valid license issued by another state. The tests are:
- Vision tests, which require at least 20/40 vision and a combined horizontal vision of 120 degrees
- Knowledge tests, which require knowledge of the state’s laws of the road and driving acuity
- Skills tests that monitor your driving, stopping at the appropriate signs, sitting, turning, parallel parking, yielding, and completing other driving actions. Young drivers who present a certificate of completion from a state-approved education program may have this test waived at the discretion of the examiner.
Graduated Driver License
Wyoming uses a Graduated Driver License Program for young drivers. To get a license, drivers first receive a learner’s permit. After they’ve held the learner’s permit for 10 days and completed and documented 50 hours of driving practice (including 10 at night), they are eligible to apply for an intermediate license. An intermediate license allows them to drive during the hours between 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. and with only one non-related passenger under 18 in the car with them. These restrictions are waived if a licensed driver older than 18 is present in the seat next to the driver. Exceptions may be made in certain situations, such as jobs, emergencies, or extracurricular activities. In those situations, the young person must complete an Intermediate Permit Driving Exception Form and keep it with them in the vehicle.
After practice and attaining the proper age (16 1/2 with driver’s education or 17 without), young drivers can receive a regular driver’s license. Young drivers register for these state-approved driver education programs through their local school district.
Drivers may receive a restricted license and learner’s permit at 14 or 15 under hardship situations such as living more than five miles from school or needing a license to help out in their parent’s business.
Young drivers, under age 21, are also subject to more strenuous suspension requirements if they violate driving rules, particularly those about driving while intoxicated.
Other Educational Programs
Because Wyoming does not use a point system for moving violations, it does not offer the opportunity to take driver improvement classes to remove points from your driving record. Drivers may elect, however, to take courses to improve their driving or to receive a discount on their insurance premiums. Some of these courses are specialized, such as aimed to help senior citizens drive better. To ensure you’ll receive an insurance discount after completing the course, it’s best to consult with the insurance company before registering.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?