Basic Auto Insurance
According to the Department of Transportation, the basic auto insurance that you need to have in Wyoming is:
- At least $25,000 per person, bodily injury
- At least $50,000 per accident to cover bodily injuries
- At least $20,000 per accident to cover property damage
This is the absolute minimum that is acceptable within the state. Most insurers have standard and basic policies. Standard policies may cost more but will provide additional benefits such as:
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
- Medical payments coverage
Basic auto insurance will meet the state requirements for liability coverage and can be purchased through any Wyoming insurance provider.
Required Insurance Documents
It is important to carry your insurance card on you. The required document should be issued as a paper copy or available electronically.
Your Insurance Card
Your insurance card has to be provided in paper or digital form upon request. You may need to present the card:
- If you are stopped by a police officer during a spot check
- If you are stopped for a traffic violation
- When you’re involved in a crash
- Before a vehicle inspection
If you don’t present the card, then you could be fined. If you are involved in an accident with someone other than an immediate family member that causes more than $1,000 in property damage or injury, you’ll be required to prove your liability coverage. If you can’t do so and the Department of Transportation is unable to verify coverage, your driver’s license will be suspended regardless of whether you were at fault. To clear the suspension, you’ll need to do one of the following:
- A verified SR-21 form indicating you had liability insurance on the vehicle at the time of the accident. It must be completed in full and verified by your insurance agent or insurance company.
- A security deposit in the form of a certified check
- A notarized release from the other party(s) or their insurance company.
- A notarized conditional release of liability signed by yourself and the other party(s) or their insurance company indicating that you are making payments for damages as a result of this accident.
Insurance fraud is taken seriously in Wyoming. Insurance fraud, which includes providing falsified information to your insurance company when submitting an application or making a claim, can be considered a misdemeanor or felony depending upon the amount. Those who commit fraud could face penalties of up to
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- A jail or prison sentence
- The loss of your driver license
- A requirement to pay restitution
- Additional civil actions
How to Report Fraud to the State
If you suspect someone you know is committing fraud, you can report it to the Wyoming Department of Insurance,
106 East 6th Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Fraud results in increased insurance premiums for everyone.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?