Traffic Violations in Wyoming 101
Wyoming does not use a point system; however, drivers are still accountable for their moving violations. A driver who accumulates four moving violations within a 12-month period will lose their driving privileges for 90 days. Moving violations include infractions such as speeding, failing to yield the right-of-way, or passing a stopped school bus, but do not include parking tickets. Some serious offenses, such as reckless driving and driving while under the influence, can result in a license suspension even if the driver has no other offenses on their record. Drivers whose licenses are suspended can apply for limited driving privileges in certain situations.
Wyoming may revoke your license if you’ve committed certain offenses such as vehicular homicide, leaving the scene of an accident, and a third driving while intoxicated. You may not apply for limited driving privileges if your license is revoked.
How Long Do Offenses Stay On Your Record?
Minor traffic violations, such as speeding tickets, only stay on your record for 12 months. More serious offenses remain on your record longer; the amount of time depends upon the offense.
License Suspension and Reinstatement in Wyoming
The rules regarding suspension and reinstatement vary depending upon the offense and the number of times you’ve offended. A first-time DWUI offender will lose their license for 90 days; however, they can apply for limited driving privileges if they don’t have an ignition interlock requirement and haven’t previously had a probationary license. However, if they offend a second time within a 10-year period, the suspension is for one year, and the driver is not eligible for limited driving privileges—a third offense results in license revocation.
The first reckless driving offense will net a 90-day suspension, and the second within five years will net a six-month suspension. In both cases, drivers may apply for limited driving privileges. A third offense results in a one-year suspension, and the driver is not eligible for limited driving privileges.
Suspensions for accumulating four moving violations within a year are for 90 months, and drivers may apply for limited driving privileges. If they commit another offense, their license is suspended for another 90 days.
Driving with a suspended or revoked license or driving in violation of the terms or an intermediate or limited license increases the suspension time.
In all cases, drivers will need to pay their fines and suspension or revocation fees to regain their driving privilege. They also must present an SR-22, which is proof of liability insurance. Once an SR-22 is on file, the insurer must notify the Wyoming Department of Transportation if insurance is canceled. Driving without insurance is not allowed.
Depending upon the type of citation and where you received it, you’ll be able to pay online, by mail, by phone, or in person. You have the option of not contesting the ticket and paying it or having a court hearing to determine whether you committed the offense. Information about payment and court options will be on the citation.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?