This page covers the topic of how to renew an expired Rhode Island learner’s permit. You’ll learn what you need to know before your DMV visit.
DMVGURU is the latest A.I.-technology by DMVGO.com. Feel free to ask any question you have about the Rhode Island DMV or learner’s permits. You can also find your nearest DMV office or local automotive services.
You can renew a Rhode Island learner’s permit easily if it has expired for less than 2 years. Simply visit your local RI DMV office, pay the fee and receive your valid RI learner’s permit. Once you go past 2 years of expiration, you must retake the written exam to renew your permit.
If you let it expire for more than 2 years, you’ll need to retake the written test at the DMV. Bear in mind, you must make an appointment at the Cranston DMV office for the computerized knowledge test. You can access the system between 8:30 a.m. and 2:45 p.m. Monday through Friday. You must set an appointment with the DMV ahead of time in order to renew your expired permit.
How to Renew an Expired Rhode Island Learner’s Permit
Be sure to bring:
- Valid form of identification, such as a birth certificate OR an unexpired passport
- Your original driver’s education certificate
- 2 documents to prove residency
- The address you submit can be associated with a person who shares the same last name
- Payment for your learner’s permit fees in Rhode Island.
- $7.50 for permit holders 18 years old and older.
- $12.50 for permit holders under 18 years old.
Take the RI DMV Written Test in Other Languages?
You can also request to take the test in another language, since the Rhode Island DMV offers the test in different languages. If there are no changes to your address or name since your last renewal, the process should be quick and easy. On the other hand, if there have been changes like an address change or name change, you may need to bring additional documents to the RI DMV, such as your updated proof of address and a Social Security card.
When you visit the DMV during your appointment time, you can complete the required DMV forms, take the written test, and pay the required fee. Once all the paperwork has been filled out, you will also take a vision test and retake your driver’s license photograph. Upon approval, you will receive a renewed permit that is valid for 2 years from the date of issue.
Failed the Rhode Island Learner’s Permit Test?
With a failing score on the computerized knowledge test, you will have to wait 8 days to retake it. If you pass, you’ll be able to renew your expired permit right away and get back on the road.
Additional Rhode Island Learner’s Permit Info
For more information about renewing an expired Rhode Island learner’s permit, don’t hesitate to contact your nearest DMV office for specific questions and assistance. You can also get more details about renewing a RI learner’s permit by contacting the DMV at (800) 831-3726.
We hope this information has been helpful in renewing your expired Rhode Island learner’s permit. For further questions and assistance, you can also email firstname.lastname@example.org
Remember that renewing your learner’s permit is a necessary step to getting your RI driver’s license so take it seriously. Always drive safe and follow all traffic laws!
Good luck renewing your expired Rhode Island learner’s permit.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?